CDASR | Latest News


Christian Webb was recently awarded the 25th annual Alfred Pope Award for Young Investigators, McLean's highest research honor. Christian received the award for research focused on clarifying the etiology and underlying pathophysiology of depression. The award ceremony was covered in a recent edition of McLean News. Congratulations Christian!




Alexis Whitton PhD

Alexis Whitton has been awarded an NHMRC CJ Martin Early Career Biomedical Fellowship as well as R.G. Menzies Award from the National Health and Medical Research Council. The first award is the Australian equivalent of a NIHM K99/R00 grant.  The Menzies Award is awarded “to the highest ranked applicant from the Biomedical Fellowship category who the Menzies Foundation judges to best represent qualities of leadership ability, both proven and potential.” The title of Alexis’ proposal is: “Using Reward-based Biomarkers to Improve the Early Detection of Bipolar Disorder in Individuals Seeking Treatment for Depression.”



Elizabeth Olson has received an Alies Muskin Career Development Leadership Program award from the Anxiety and Depression Association of America (ADAA). This is a highly competitive program that provides mentoring and professional development opportunity for early career clinicians and researchers.

Jeremy Stewart is the 2016 recipient of the HMS Kaplen Fellowship on Depression Award. In addition, Jeremy was recently awarded a Livingston Fellowship for his project entitled “Examining Behavioral and Neural Mechanisms Underlying Suicidality in Depressed Adolescents.”

Alexis Whitton PhD

Alexis Whitton was recently promoted to Instructor in Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School. Congratulations to Dr. Whitton!



A number of CDASR lab members have recently received significant grants and awards.  Poornima Kumar has been awarded an NIMH grant for her study entitled “Influence of GABA on reinforcement learning in individuals with current and remitted depression.”  Christian Webb has been awarded a Klingenstein Third Generation Fellowship Award in Depression, for a longitudinal fMRI study of children with anhedonia. Finally, Stephanie Deccy and Melissa Yuan, two of our undergraduate researchers, have each been awarded a Harvard College Research Program (HCRP) grant to support their work in the center during the summer.  Congratulations to all on your achievements!

Contact our This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with any web-related questions or feedback
Website credit: Michael Attisha © 2012